Gov. Ajimobi Swears In LG Chairmen

Governor Abiola Ajimobi, Monday, May 14, sworn-in executive chairmen into 33 local governments and thirty-five local council development areas (LCDAs) in the state.
Ajimobi, who presided over the swearing-in at the house of chiefs, secretariat, Ibadan, noted that the epoch-making event signified his administration’s resolve towards consolidating democratic process and participatory governance at the local government level. The governor further stated that he has proved skeptics and doubting Thomas wrong, which he described the event as another defining moment in the life of his administration. Ajimobi recalled that: “We have had cause to cross several legal and administrative hurdles in our quest to conduct elections into our local governments and thereby entrench democratic governance at the third tier of government.”

“To you all the winners at the local government elections, please accept my heart -felt congratulations.” “You should be guided by the oath that you have just sworn to and be fair and just in the discharge of your onerous responsibilities,” the governor pleaded. He reminded them of the expectations of people of the state, noting that they were earnestly yearning for development and quick delivery of dividends of democracy, adding that,

“You cannot afford to fail them,” he warned. While extending hands of fellowship to the splinter groups within the ruling party in the state, Ajimobi appealed to them to retrace their steps and join hands with his administration to make the party more formidable and virile ahead of the 2019 general elections.

Meanwhile, party elders across the state yesterday visited governor Ajimobi and assured him of their commitment to the party despite the recent crisis rocking the state chapter of the party. The leaders include: Alhaji Olaide Abass, Alhaji Lasisi Ayankojo, Chief Solomon Mojereola, Chief Samuel Adekola, Chief Samuel Laoye, Prince Kunle Sanda, Alhaji Kamorudeen Ajisafe, Chief Sunday Adewale, Alhaji Femi Yussuf, Chief Bashiru Ajibade, Chief Lekan Adeyemo and Dr. Adepeju Esan.

Facebook Comments